What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

When does Pro-Mix Soilless turn into soil ?

PaulieWaulie

Veteran
I've been reusing my pro mix for a good six months now, roots and all, and on my current run, I added some organic soil mix to at 15% of total volume. The organic mix didn't give the best results so I will need to remix from scratch on my next attempt and figured at a low 15% rate it wouldn't cause any issues. But now I am wondering about these changes, over the last 6 months the roots continuously decomposing as well as the peat slowly breaking down at what point will this mix be considered soil, where my target medium and water/nutrient solution should be 6.5 - 6.8, versus soilless pro mix where it has been 5.8-6.2.

I am feeding Pure blend pro nutrients/ with liquid karma. The pro mix has been holding a steady PH of 6.1 to 6.3 based on my run off measurements. I don't add dolomite lime as it hasn't gone below this range, and I have fairly hard water at 220 PPM so there is calcium carbonate being added with every watering already.

here is the organic soil mix that was added

3 CUBIC FOOT BASE MIX (21G)
[x] 13 PARTS PRO MIX HP (30% Perlite)
[x] 3 PARTS WORM CASTINGS
[x] 2 PARTS COMPOST
[x] 3 PARTS PERLITE

43% PEAT 9G
24% EWC/COMPOST 5G
33% PERLITE 7G

AMMENDMENTS PER CUBIC FOOT (7G)

[x] 1 CUP BONE MEAL
[x] 1 CUP GLACIAL ROCK DUST
[x] 1/2 CUP KELP MEAL
[x] 1/2 CUP OYSTER SHELL
[x] 1/2 CUP DEHYDRATED MOLLASSES
[x] 1/2 CUP AZOMITE
[x] 1/4 CUP BLOOD MEAL
[x] 1/4 CUP ALFALFA MEAL

PaulieWaulie

Veteran