What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Stripped down oils: what makes for the different effects?

pinkus

Veteran
Hey y'all. I'm fairly new to concentrates beyond old-school hash.

The market pushed me towards producing cartridges for weed pens so I have been playing with the oils and have settled for the time being on pentane as my main solvent, either as a clean-up step after an ethanol extraction or using it straight away for small batches.

I've been quite surprised at my results as far as which strains I like and why. For instance, I have been running a train wreckbx "problematic plant" for a little while. In the flower form (while it has terrible structure) I really liked it, pungent (camphor), strong, pretty fast and not really an up or a down high. Just strong. As an extracted oil, it hits me like an indica.

The plant that really made my head spin on this issue was the Acapulco Gold I ran. The first, faster plant I used I just blended with my other stuff, because the oil was so obvious it wasn't going to give much oil. The second plant went at least 5 weeks longer. in fact, I had nothing to hash except the AG1, which was more than a qp on half a scrog screen. So, it was hashed separately... I won't even talk yield #s, because they were pathetic. HOWEVER. Holy SHIT!!! that stuff is stellar!

My most run plant is a (Highland MexxBlueberry) x (Grapefruitxblueberry) and it yields well and give stellar oil.

The method I use strips most of the terpenes (of course), so I'm assuming it's the cannabinoids... but it certainly seems like it's not down to delta 9 THC.

What are the master's thoughts?

:bandit:

Mengsk