What's new

my journey to vermicomposting using restaurant & grocery store scraps

Boyd Crowder

Teem MiCr0B35
SO yeah, I have a few friends who do the vermicomposting , and they told me how to make massive amounts of it for almost no money.

Use vegetable scraps not just from my own kitchen, but sourcing from local restaurants and or grocery stores.

My kid works in a nearby retaurant, and i have lots of friends in the business.

My first goal is to hit up some of the juice shops i patronize. that way i dont have to seperate meats, fats , onions, peppers etc.

second best , a grocery store that tosses out the spoiled veggies

and third , restaurants , where id need to manually seperate the sources

Im just starting out in this , so anyone care to join me on this 6-7 month endeavour ?

anyone else doing this ?

heady blunts

prescription blunts
Veteran
if you can lock down the waste streams you're golden. the logistics are the hardest part, especially as you start scaling up.

i think worm farming is a hugely underserved industry, especially on the east coast. when i look at the prices of castings i think seriously about starting an EWC business.

if you want really super awesome and consistent castings, consider putting the food scraps through a thermal composting process then feeding that to the worms. add some rock dust and crab shell in your thermal compost too now you've got pretty much the best plant food on the planet.

good luck!

Siskiyou

Veteran
This sounds like an excellent project and potentially great fun as well as rewarding. My gardening has become increasingly vermicentric, though at a small scale, and I love it.

What style bin(s) will you use?

Boyd Crowder

Teem MiCr0B35
most likely a 40gal tote for the first runs
ijust remembered
i know a kid who manages the produce dept of a local grocery store ima make him target #1

sticky367