What's new

Complete newbie breeding questions

BoomBoom

What's up all. Getting closer to buying my first new home(will probably be done early Jan.) where I will be closet growing!

Anyway, I had some questions about breeding 2 diff strains. I see a lot of people post their crosses, but you never know which one is male or female, or if that will even have an effect on the created plant.

For example, I am high interested in Tangerine Dream(mostly sativa). I will be growing more or less micro so I would prefer indica. I would cross my TD with a Vanilla Kush(mostly indica).

So, what we have is either;
TD x VK, or perhaps VK x TD?
(Is there an established method when listing? Which sex is listed first? Female x Male?)

If I want the end result to be more indica, should I make the TD a male and pollinate the female VK or vice versa? Does it even matter? Or is it like humans where anything can happen from either side of the genes?

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

igrowone

Veteran
i'm a newb breeder myself, the cross info is normally listed with the female first, i.e. 'ladies first'
now what you will get is going to get much more complicated, that i can't tell you

Hundred Gram Oz

Our Work is Never Over
Veteran
Hi BoomBoom, when talking about crosses eg, Super Silver Haze x Sour Diesel, the mother is written before the father, so Super Silver Haze would be the female.