What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

House spiders

C

Conformist

Summer has finally come to an end up here in Canada and spiders are starting to show themselves around the house.
Lately, I've been finding 2-3 of them daily and was wondering if it would be beneficial to have a couple inside my 3x3 grow tent?

I have 4 plants in there right now and none are having pest problems at the moment.
However, I'm sure putting a couple inside would be much more useful than flushing them down the toilet.

So, I was wondering, what kind of pests exactly do spiders eat?
Does it eats everything just like a praying mantis?
Thanks.

I have zero experience with this ... but a couple thoughts. You're better off controlling things such that the spider doesn't have anything to eat, as once there is something to eat, it's probably more than 1 or 2 spiders can take care of ...

Spiders build webs ... unless you're running SCROG or something where you don't move the plants, you're going to destroy the spider's environment regularly any way.

An outdoor grow, I'd be all over having friendly bugs ... spiders, mantids, lady bugs ... Indoors, I think your better off using soap solution or neem oil as needed depending on the pest in question.

C

Conformist

I have zero experience with this ... but a couple thoughts. You're better off controlling things such that the spider doesn't have anything to eat, as once there is something to eat, it's probably more than 1 or 2 spiders can take care of ...

Spiders build webs ... unless you're running SCROG or something where you don't move the plants, you're going to destroy the spider's environment regularly any way.