What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

New Guy - First Post - Guitars And Some Music

belleswell

I just joined here and this is my first post. I thought about putting it in the introduction thread, but hardly anybody reads them on other forums.

I was just going to lurk here, but after seeing a thread on guitars, and then another thread for fishing, I had to join.

I have quite a few hobbies. At the top of the list is playing guitar. I started playing in '64, took lessons for few years, and that led to gigging with a band. I gave up playing top 40 crap in the early 80s and got a real job as an electrician. I retired three years ago, moved north in Michigan to
a home I bought after retiring. It has a pond, some acreage, and I fell in love with the place when I stumbled onto the Zillow listing for the home. It had everything we ever wanted in a country home.

So among other hobbies of fishing, wildlife photography, and gardening, my number one been, and hopefully always will be, playing guitar. I started playing after seeing the Beatles on the Ed Sullivan show, and have have a long list of artists and bands that have shaped my style of playing over the years. Satriani has been one of my larger influences in the last 30 years. I've attached a youtube vid of a cover I did of him. I took lessons for 3 years and have been self taught ever since.

Most of what I play and record, I'm never truly happy with as I can hear every mistake I've made, and all
of the things I could have done better or differently on a recording. I'm my own worst critic.