Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Marijuana Growing > Propagation > EZ Cloner machine to soil. Something went wrong

Thread Title Search
Post Reply
EZ Cloner machine to soil. Something went wrong Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2020, 06:50 PM #1
AloeRuss
Crown Jewel of the Legion

AloeRuss's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: 90210
Posts: 554
AloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura about
EZ Cloner machine to soil. Something went wrong

Hi

I need to make clones regularly and recently discovered cloner machine. It makes them at 99 percent success rate, but planting them to soil seems to be the problem. Most of them can’t handle it and wilt.

I use frog mix and add 400ppm food using RO water.
5.8 ph
This time I mixed too much water (I think). The soil was soaked.
I just slide root into an opening I create and pack lightly.

60 percent wilted.
Anyone can point me to detailed instructions.
Thank you so much
AloeRuss is offline Quote


Old 12-20-2020, 07:35 PM #2
ElGato
hellbilly™

ElGato's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 842
ElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant futureElGato has a brilliant future
Quote:
Originally Posted by AloeRuss View Post
Hi

I need to make clones regularly and recently discovered cloner machine. It makes them at 99 percent success rate, but planting them to soil seems to be the problem. Most of them can’t handle it and wilt.

I use frog mix and add 400ppm food using RO water.
5.8 ph
This time I mixed too much water (I think). The soil was soaked.
I just slide root into an opening I create and pack lightly.

60 percent wilted.
Anyone can point me to detailed instructions.
Thank you so much

when transplanting from an aero-cloner to soil?

here's what i do:
first you want your soil mix to be fully saturated to the point where you can just barely squeeze a drop or two of water/fert mix out of a handful of soil mix. so, wet but not soaking wet

then i do as you did, fill my cups with the mix and make a hole, insert cutting and pack down the soil gently around the stem.

after that i add a small trickle of water/fert mix right around the base of the stem, probably around 1-2 tablespoon and then gently repack the soil again. I rarely have any problems, like almost never


i think what may be happening is your roots aren't making good enough contact with the mix, that's where my extra step comes in.

give it a shot and see if that fixes your problem
ElGato is offline Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-20-2020, 07:49 PM #3
growlegal
Member

growlegal's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 356
growlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud of
When I transfer from cloner to pro-mix I do not put them under direct light the first week
The cloner keeps the plants healthy but once you remove them they need a little TLC out of the spotlight and a light misting with plain water for the first few days
Good luck
growlegal is offline Quote


Old 12-20-2020, 08:20 PM #4
AloeRuss
Crown Jewel of the Legion

AloeRuss's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: 90210
Posts: 554
AloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElGato View Post
when transplanting from an aero-cloner to soil?

here's what i do:
first you want your soil mix to be fully saturated to the point where you can just barely squeeze a drop or two of water/fert mix out of a handful of soil mix. so, wet but not soaking wet

then i do as you did, fill my cups with the mix and make a hole, insert cutting and pack down the soil gently around the stem.

after that i add a small trickle of water/fert mix right around the base of the stem, probably around 1-2 tablespoon and then gently repack the soil again. I rarely have any problems, like almost never


i think what may be happening is your roots aren't making good enough contact with the mix, that's where my extra step comes in.

give it a shot and see if that fixes your problem
Thank you so much.
What kind of water do you use? Do you mix any food in it? PH? PPM?
The ones that I planted into VERY saturated soil died in 30 min
AloeRuss is offline Quote


Old 12-20-2020, 08:22 PM #5
AloeRuss
Crown Jewel of the Legion

AloeRuss's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: 90210
Posts: 554
AloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by growlegal View Post
When I transfer from cloner to pro-mix I do not put them under direct light the first week
The cloner keeps the plants healthy but once you remove them they need a little TLC out of the spotlight and a light misting with plain water for the first few days
Good luck
Do you use any powder on your roots when transplant?
AloeRuss is offline Quote


Old 12-20-2020, 09:39 PM #6
growlegal
Member

growlegal's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 356
growlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud ofgrowlegal has much to be proud of
Quote:
Originally Posted by AloeRuss View Post
Do you use any powder on your roots when transplant?
No
In fact when I transplant initially to beer cups 20 0z with plain water from cloner and like I said mist first couple days
growlegal is offline Quote


Old 12-20-2020, 09:57 PM #7
trichrider
THEORETICAL

trichrider's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: between CB1 and the singularity.
Posts: 8,397
trichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivortrichrider is a survivor
i would wait to feed them anything until they regain turgidity.
happy frog? doesn't that have nutrients in it? and then more in watering?


give up a pic of the roots that have struck, maybe there is a clue there.


your method sounds proper. might there be a temperature change under different lighting?
__________________
"I'm not always a dick...but when I am, I drink cheap beer".

trichrider is offline Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-20-2020, 10:12 PM #8
AloeRuss
Crown Jewel of the Legion

AloeRuss's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: 90210
Posts: 554
AloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura aboutAloeRuss has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by trichrider View Post
i would wait to feed them anything until they regain turgidity.
happy frog? doesn't that have nutrients in it? and then more in watering?


give up a pic of the roots that have struck, maybe there is a clue there.


your method sounds proper. might there be a temperature change under different lighting?
Roots looked very good, but you’re right. Happy Frog has food. And I gave them more food. This may be it..?
AloeRuss is offline Quote


Old 12-21-2020, 04:18 AM #9
mean mr.mustard
I Pass Satellites

mean mr.mustard's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Overturning Pebbles and Upending All the Animals Alight
Posts: 11,244
mean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivormean mr.mustard is a survivor
How long are your roots when you transplant?

Perhaps letting them root longer will help...
mean mr.mustard is online now Quote


2 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-21-2020, 04:40 AM #10
Fronk
Member

Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 887
Fronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond reputeFronk has a reputation beyond repute
Just use a cover/lid over your cuts so the humidity stays high for the first week.
Fronk is offline Quote


3 members found this post helpful.

Post Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:55 AM.




This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.