What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

How many seeds to start?

DoDad

I can only grow 8 plants at a time. How many seeds should I order and germ?

8 or 10 seeds just in case a couple don't pop?

fuggzy

I'm no pro but I would get the 10 pack. Better to have 2 extra than 2 short.

Good luck & have fun
Fuggzy

R

!RA!

Having a few extra is always a good idea, you can always keep them in the fridge. My last run I had 26 total and 21 popped.

aridbud

automeister
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Yes, plan for the worst, hope for the best!!

If you're allowed 8 plant limit, then plant 12-16, esp. if you are using regular (non fem) seeds. Pick the most robust for your plant count. You can always use the ones you don't choose (females) or males in edibles, tincture, balm.

DoDad

I plan on buying only feminized seeds given my situation. The plan is to veg for 1st two weeks, then flip.

I was thinking of running 2 plants each of 4 different strains. I don't have a good success rate so growing 2 of each strain might hedge my bet for getting a taste of each.

X

Xephier

You won't get big plants(much yield) by vegging for 2 weeks and flipping. If you plan to flip after 2 weeks then you'd be better off getting autoflower seeds. Fem seeds are best if you veg them for no less than a month or 2 then flip. Unless you have a 10 inch height limit for some reason then do it your way.