What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Hello all, I want to amend some E.B. Stone Recipe 420 soil and I'm a beginner...

LaOtraDroga

I am a hydro grower that has converted to soil. I'm done with spending a lot of money when there's a better way. I want to add extra amendments to a pre mixed potting soil but have concerns with amending this mix. I did not want to make it hot and wanted some input on how much is too much. I want to feed just water to my plants and not use ferts anymore. I have used FFOF with botanicare PBP nutrients in the past. I have also used FFOF with just water. I want better success with a more organic approach. I would like to hear what the experts here would like to express. I am ready to absorb your knowledge. La Otra Droga...

S

Sat X RB

Mate, I converted a cuppla seasons ago but I 'm not an expert yet.

one thing I 've noticed over this time tho'is the number of purchased soil users who get into trouble either at transplant or when they first add nutes (organic or otherwise).

this seems to be because the purchased soil they use has already been amended by the manufacturer ... and crazy things happen when more nutrition is added.

so I guess what I 'm saying is research the soil you buy. find out how it's made and what it's pH is. (there is info on the web which points to an unscrupulous soil maker in the UK who collects brick dust from demolition sites to include in his mix!!!)

in any case it's a good idea to let yr mix sit for a while to allow any potential chem interactions to settle down before planting.

cheers from the Land of Oz.

LaOtraDroga