What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

SWC (shallow water culture system)

A few of u may have seen my recent White Widow extm. grow pics...
My system is what I have named the shallow water culture system...
It functions on all the same principles as a DWC using only .5"-1.0" of water, thus a shallow water system...I have been growing hydro for 35 years and of all the the systems available on the market, this is ultimatly what it all came back too.
My current system is in a 4ft wide by 5.5ft deep closet...
It starts with a pc of foam board on the floor which the 2x4 frame sits on....the 2x4 frame is lined with panda plastic, creating your reservoir.....prior to putting down the plastic, a 4-5" by 1.5ft rectangle is cut in the base foam board at the working end....that being the end where u would add water....this creates a sump area where circulation pumps will be....when ur water gets below .5" and its time to add more, your pumps are still in over an inch of water and still circulating fine...

The lid on the res is also a pc of foiled foam board cut to size to sit on your 2x4 frame....a cutout is made for each of your containers based on the number of plants u like to run...as u see, mine has (12) #2 containers....a rectangular cutout is also on the lid, at the working end for watering and pump placement and access..