What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

4000 watts, 1 bedroom apartment: can it be done?

Hi.

I've never grown in an apartment or connected-type unit before, and I'm trying to rule out any stupid stuff that might be slipping my mind.

The plan is 4K watts in a 10x10 tent. No damaged walls on this one. Vent out the window, inconspicuously as possible of course. The power source will be the 240 volt stove.

Is there any little thing I might be forgetting that could potentially be a big thing? I know this is an open-ended question and I apologize for that. Again, I'm an apartment noob and I'm just thinking out loud here...

Thanks in advance.

Are you going to be living there?
Yes. This is a six month stay. It's a long story, but essentially I figure "why not grow while I'm hanging out there anyway?"

I plan on using the bedroom as the grow room with the tent, and sleeping in the living room with the doggie.

Apartments present you with a number of issues. Does it get cold where you're at? If pipes burst, you'll have a whole bunch of workmen in your place with zero notice.

For other things, they generally only have to give you 24 hours notice. I imagine you won't be living on-site, so how will you get there in time to tear everything down 24 hours after they slip a notice-note under your door that you don't live at?