What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

New to cloning in Rockwool...tips needed

ThePizzaMan

Veteran
Hey guys

I have been cloning in rapid rooters for several years. I am moving to a new spot..and have had to take tons of clones(tons for me anyway).

I am trying out some rockwool 1.5 cubes, which I ph'd to 5.5 when I let them soak for about an hour. They have been in the dome for about 4 days now.

I have noticed that some cubes are lighter than others. what is the best method of rewetting the cubes? spray them? dip them in water? How do you yourself rewet them? what do you ph the solution with? Do you add nutes?

Do you leave the paper on...or do you remove it?

I have the thermostat set to 78f...should I remove the dome if they allow. It has been dry the past few days at 50%rh ....but they are all standing firm at attention...more so than the RR's. Should I not touch them if they are not drooping?

thanks

TpM

I use the clonex nutrient solution from the beginning, 1-0.4-1, and water the cubes with a stainless steel turkey baster. Makes it real easy to give just the right amount of moisture. I mist with that solution as well. PH as you would anything else. Remove the dome for short periods of time if you start to see roots or open the vents in the dome. I always mist the inside of the dome itself as well. Sounds like you are on the way though if they are not drooping.

Good luck