What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Complete novice...

Dazlad

Help pls anyone.!!.1st Eva grow.!!.got 2x4x5 tent with 2x auto's (3rd wk,)under 2x 300 vipa Leds in coco/perlite 4gal smart pots..add cal-mg probs think I have sorted now.!!..but should I pick off lower affected leaves or should I just let them be & let them drop off naturally..??..

bsgospel

Bat Macumba
Veteran
I remove damaged/dead leaves as they can stress a plant out in large numbers. If your whole plant is showing stress, you can't very well remove everything. You'll need at least some to carry you to harvest. Use good judgement on what's hurting your plant vs. Helping.

Dazlad

Thanks bsgospel...only 1st 2/3 sets of leaves affected(brown spots & turned yellow)..think prob was only ph'ed my water, didn't cal/mag it, when I soaked coir bricks..corrected that & both girls seem 2b growing fine now.!!..I'll trim off affected leaves now I know.!!..thanks again.

Lethal

Hi,

I just can't get 100 in line with comment from bsgospel maybe I just got it wrong. Damaged leaves eg those showing deficiency are still functional and definitely don't cause so called stress to plant they are rather indication of one. If you get rid of them you are wasting energy that plant put into them anyway. Dead leaves thats another story don't leave them there or around as it is perfect starting ground for pests. Pictures will tell us more so if you have chance please share.
Lethal

G

ganjygav

Leave the leaves until they are at least 80% messed up because they're still working. Especially on young plants