What's new

Still rinsing Botanicare CocoGro?

Cutty

I've searched and have seen both answers. Some of the newer posts say that it doesn't have as many salts as it used to.

This is my first time ever using it and I am going to do a side by side with 4x4 E&F tables. I am prepping my coco today.

I have my scrubbed out tote in the shower and 3 gallons of filtered water in there. What's next?

I would like to add some light grow nutes and transplant my cuttings into the pots, but should I rinse? If so how? I have a round 20 gallon rubbermaid thing that has a bunch of 3/8 holes drilled in it for washing hydroton. I am afraid it will go through those holes.

Dirtfinger

I'm a "better safe than sorry" kind of guy so I'd rinse and soak it in a light nute solution with a little Cal/Mg. I only do 1 plant at a time tho, so that's easy for me to say.

You could always soak some in a dish of hot water for 15-20 minutes and then check the EC. If it's clean the EC should be only slightly above that of your water alone.

I'm kind of a noob to coco, but that's how I've handled the rinsing thing.

You could just put a piece of window screen (or reasonable facsimile) in the bottom of your tub to cover the holes.

FatBlunt420

Killin' Zombies!
ICMag Donor
Veteran
ive been all canna, but i found a store closer with botanicare coco gro... i grabbed 2 bags, cannas a finer coco, texture wise.
i havent opened them yet, but i might just stay canna, cuz i never had to rise with them, cannas good right out of the bag.
i notice these botanicare bags say pre rinsed, and now with less salt.... im gonna check the run off later. i got a trenchon and digital ph meter.

FatBlunt420

Killin' Zombies!
ICMag Donor
Veteran
oo shit... sorry.

the test went HORRIBLE. my tentchon goes up to 3.2 EC. the run off from botanicare loose coco gro,bag coco, was OFF THE CHARTS. the highest light was flashing bcuz the EC was SOOO high.