What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

pot size for autos

stoned-trout

if it smells like fish
Veteran
what does everyone recommend for pot size for autos??? has anyone found the point of diminishing returns in regard to soil volume???...looks like I will be trying several varieties real soon and I am an auto idiot !!! total newbee////...thanx .. yeehaw...looking to see how far autos have come since I smoked some when they were first put out...

corky1968

Veteran
I've never grown autoflowering plants so this is just a just guess on my part.

I don't think I would use anything bigger than a 6 or 8 inch pot on one of these.
The reason I say this is because I have grown regular plants for 3 to 5 months
in pots of those sizes quite easily. So with autoflowering plants not going
3 to 5 months I suspect all would be fine.

Next year, I'll probably try 20 to 30 autoflowering seeds in the outdoors to see what these are all about. :tiphat:

Cheers people.

Pot size makes a huge difference for autos in my experience. I use 5 gallon buckets with 1 or 2 plants in each. Coco, promix, coco chips, coco birds nest, or perlite 'hempy buckets'. Yield about a g/watt in big buckets. Unless you want to do a sea of green in small pots...

Tynehead Tom

I'm growing my first autos and kinda wondered the same thing.
I decided on putting them in 18 gallon totes, 2 to 3 to a tote.
they are still germinating tho so still have time to make different plans.
I thought about a planter box 18" wide, 4 ft long 2 feet deep and just plant them in a row.
we'll see.

HereIgrowagain