What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

OPINIONS WANTED...new to Vert, building 3 x 3 room.

311devon

As the title says i am new to Vert and building a 42"w x 36"d x 75"h tapering to 38"h room under my basement stairs that will hopefully produce enough to free me from the MicroSOG i've been running for the last 2 years. Growing media/nutes will either be Coco/perlite mix using KISS method or LC's#1 ammended with guanos that i've had cooking for about 6mo now. I need to pull a LB per cycle(hopin for 16wks clone/veg/flower). Heres my questions:

1. Vscrog or tree? I'm thinking Vscrog the left and back wall and then two short indica bushes on the right side where the ceiling is only 38"h. im thinkin the veg time for the Vscrog will be shorter than veggin in a tree. Is this assumption correct? Is is enough to matter? ie are we talkin a week or a month?

2. Can this be done with a single 400w? I already have one, i'll just pick up another if 400w isnt enough for this space to pull a LB. If a second bulb is needed, should i run a vertical stack or run em at the same height accross the depth of the room?

3. The Gridwall im planning on using for Vscroggin is made out of welded 1/4" steel rod powdercoated black. I'm a lil concerned that it may build and hold heat from the infrared emmitted by ths HPS. Anybody ever scrog with heavy gauge steel wire like this?