What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

flushing coco for a smooth taste

So this is my first time using coco and I want to make sure I get it 100% flushed. What's the best way ? How long to flush? Should I use something for flushing?

zangb0zang

I use 50/50 ro/tap water throught the grow, and tap water (same ph) to flush plants 7-15 days.
I put my tapwater in a bucket for 24-48h before using it. then i ph it.

hope this 1st post will help :)

RonSmooth

Veteran
Flushing is to get rid of excess levels of salts in the medium. From what i understand about plant biology, it doesn't directly effect the taste.

Excess salts arent good for the plant so flushing is good for this reason. I would run plain water through the medium until your runoff is an acceptable EC, then resume feeding as the plant needs.

Reg Dixon

ICMag Donor
So this is my first time using coco and I want to make sure I get it 100% flushed. What's the best way ? How long to flush? Should I use something for flushing?

People use different methods but I flush using a shower head and a mesh bowl into a large pretreated (ph 5.8) bowl of water to soak.

Depending on what the coco is for exactly ie seedling, veg or flower you can 'precharge' the mixture. For example I was thinking of using a root enhancer at an EC level of 0.3 in my soaking bowl next time out.

Flushing is to get rid of excess levels of salts in the medium. From what i understand about plant biology, it doesn't directly effect the taste.