What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

How To Care for Your Glass Bongs/Pipes

L

LolaGal

Puffin on your glass pipe or bong means one thing! Dirty GLASS!

Yuck! Although I have been smoking for many years, there are things about glass that I only recently learned. Here's a few tips I have learned on caring for your glass.

1) CLEANING- Glass is cleaned the easiest with KOSHER salt and 70%-90% rubbing Alcohol. Just put one teaspoon of salt in the bong or pipe and add a little alcohol. Shake and empty. If done DAILY, this only takes about 5 minutes total.

(Acrylic bongs best cleaned with vegetable oil).

2) OILING THE GLASS!!!!!! Yup this is the most important part. If you don't oil the glass where the joints touch, they are gonna STICK in there! Once they stick, it is a bear to get them back apart.

Just take your finger and dip into a little olive oil or vegetable oil. Wipe your finger on the bottom of the glass BOWL and also on the join of the glass DOWNSTEM. Go easy! There ain't no need to get oil all over everything! Just the parts where glass touches glass!

Nobody bothered to tell me this in any book, or thread that I read and I kept getting the durn things stuck! Just a little bit of oil will make this problem go away forever.

Anybody got any more good tips?

redspaghetti

love machine
ICMag Donor
Veteran
A lot of people already know this but i'll throw it out there again for anyone that dont.

Here is a very very very easy way to clean all you smoking devices with out any hard work ( scrubbing/ shaking )

- Find a cooking pot that is big enough to put all you smoking devices in