What's new

TheJointedOne's seed garden 2017

theJointedOne

Veteran
Hey all. I wanted to start this thread to share a garden I will be growing this season.

I've not grown here, and it is not my main focus this year. I am a independent contractor of sorts, and elsewhere run a couple commercial gardens for some folks. Those gardens are from clone, and it's pretty generic, in terms of variety.

So...this garden I'll be documenting here is a side project. I'll be here just 2-3 times a week, which will be plenty.

The plan is for 20 65gallon smart pots, with a goal of 60lbs. I'm going with 65s for a few reasons, ill touch on that later when the time comes. Also I'm giving a % of my yield to the old man that owns this property, fwiw.

It will be all from seed (edit- clones, and fem seed are also a possibility here, what im running is up in the air still). I'm thinking of going with 4-5 different varieties. Pop 50 beans and pick 20 females. So that means choosing 5 packs out of my collection, which will be tough, I've got lots of goodies. Here's what I've narrowed it down to; "its all up in the air"

So I've got some decisions to make, any input you all might have is always appreciated. I'll probably start seeds in mid April. I'm not in any rush to plant this garden, and won't put anything in its final home till they show preflower sex anyways.

Soil will be made on site. I'm torn between Toms mix and Coots mix. I've run Coots before with success. Lots of time to figure that out on this garden. I could probably go straight into the ground, but the property has gophers, so smart pots it will be. Please don't hate, I run huge mounds and long fat rows in ground at my other spots.

OK well more info later as I get the place cleaned up and ready to plant.

Here's some pics of how I found it. Couple little spots I'm gonna put 10 plants in each area.

picture.php

picture.php

Thanks for coming by!

p5150