What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Old School Highpothesis

shewy99

Disclaimer - This is a thread about theory; "highpothesis" if you will. Disagree? Discuss.

Moving on,

Much has been said about the weed of old. I was born too late to experience firsthand the effects of the original "landraces", so admittedly I have no first hand experience. I often become curious when I hear about the soaring, introspective highs offered by the Columbian Gold, Oaxacan, Thai's, etc that the founders of this industry grew up on. When tested, these strains only came out around 8% THC (though the testing protocol involved in achieving this number is debated.) The highs were described as "cleaner" than today, and rated as superior to modern high percentage strains.

DJ Short, one of these founders, spoke in his breeding protocols about purposely not selecting on the highest potency, but preferring the euphoric, cleaner highs offered by the mid THC, higher terpenoid specimens. IE: Blueberry, Flo

Todays new crop of cannaisseurs place much value in pushing the active ingredients THC, CBD to the highest possible levels, often to the detriment of flavour and enjoyability.

The game of chess is game of the mind, it involves relatively low amounts of stimulation. This allows your mind to wander and explore various avenues, sparking creativity.

Video games like Call of Duty are a literal assault on the senses, keeping your attention razor focused, allowing little deviation for tangential thought whilst in the zone.