What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Total newb and overwhelmed. What's step 1?

808Rob

Okay, I hate to admit it but I'm completely clueless. I've looked around this website and found a lot of interesting and met some extremely cool and helpful people, but I'm more lost than ever. Maybe someone can point me in the right direction?

This is what I know so far...

I'm looking to start growing for primarily medical purposes. I have severe, full body muscle spasms due to a spinal cord injury. I'm currently taking three times the maximum recommended dose of Baclofen. My doctor wants me to ween off the Baclofen and suggested Valium in its place. Since one small hit of pakalolo instantaneously relieves my spasms, he's approved me to get my mmj permit. However, I know absolutely nothing about growing. All the terminology is Greek to me and the names of various strains are colorful but mean nothing to me. I think I'm in way over my head.

What I've figured out so far is, I want to make canna-caps and I think I want to grow outdoors. We have the most expensive electricity in the nation and why not take advantage of Hawaii's year round growing weather? I also figure I don't want a strain that has me glued to the couch and cabbaged. I have a sales job that is highly cerebral, so I can't be mind fucked all day long. If there is a particular strain that is energizing, that would be ideal.

Since I don't know where to begin, I was looking at the How To Grow books on Amazon. Any thoughts which one is best?

Also, I don't have any contacts to get clones or seeds. Are the vendor ads on this website safe?