What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

DIY Lab Fume Hood

WaterFarmFan

Veteran
I have always tried to be as safe as possible, and to be honest, the more dangerous (ether, methanol, pentane, hexane) solvents have scared me, mainly due to vapor fears.

So, I am going to build a DIY lab fume hood and would love some feedback. Here is the scale of what I am trying to do:

https://www.grainger.com/product/ICI-Fume-Hood-45MK56

This has a lot of good details:

https://www.baylor.edu/ehs/index.php?id=92585

I am just getting started and considering all design options at this point. Basic idea is this:

Welded tube steel frame
Stainless steel sheet for interior walls
Minimal control panel with light, fan on/off, fan speed
Simple tubing access/connections/valves for vacuum, chiller & nitrogen

I will be posting more details as I progress, but for now I have a few questions about exhausting to start:

For a myriad of reasons, including the safety of others, I would like to minimize the output of fumes to as little as possible. I read that activated carbon seemed to be the preferred method of capturing these vapors. How effective would a Phresh inline filter (https://growershouse.com/phresh-inline-filter-6in) be at removing ether, methanol, pentane and hexane? How long (much vapor in ml) would it last for? Is there a more efficient method of vapor removal?