What's new

RDWC Troubles, Feedback Appreciated!

Jimbot23

First time poster here. I've been reading on forums for over a decade but only have a few soil grows under my belt. It's been almost ten years since then and I'm finally able to have a legit set up. I have a lot of knowledge but very limited experience.

Anyway, started a RDWC system exactly two weeks ago and they are doing okay, but could be a lot better. Hoping to get some feedback on what can be improved. I've read and read, but can't pinpoint what my plants are struggling with. Here is some data on my grow:

1000w MH raised as high as possible (3'-8" from tops)
(4) 5 gallon dwc buckets connected to 18 gal controller/res.
Air Temps 75-80 F
Humidity 50-60%
Water temp 65-68 F
hydroton in 6" net pots
4.5 x 5.5 x 8 ft custom tent
400ppm + 150ppm starting tap water (starts at 7.8 ph)
GH flora 3 part with orca beneficial bacteria
~1000 gph air being pumped(1 stone/bucket, 4 stones in the res)
(4) blue dream clones

I acquired clones that were rooted in soil. The transplant went smooth but they showed signs of stress for the first week. Drooping, yellowing leaves, and some burning on the leaves. This can be seen on the lower growth in the pics.

After the first week roots started poking out of the pots and they perked up a lot. Root growth is exploding and they are definitely growing up top. The new growth looks a lot healthier, but still too yellow. The yellowing looks like magnesium deficiency, except it is not exclusive to lower leaves.

I'm not sure if my issues are related to nutrients, root damage, or light toxicity. I think it is probably a combination of things. I'm hesitant to lower the light or increase ppms if they are still stressed at all. What do you guys think might be the problem? Or am I just expecting too much for my first hydro grow? The last pic is the healthiest looking of the three.

Attachments

• IMG_0719.jpg
    IMG_0719.jpg
    59 KB · Views: 9
  • IMG_0720.jpg
    IMG_0720.jpg