What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Anyone here grow their own cucumbers for pickling?

hush

Señor Member
Veteran
I really want to get into this and I have no experience with pickling anything. All I know is I have loved snacking on dill pickles since as far back as I can remember. Seems like a fun little project to get into. I have plenty of experience gardening in general, and much experience with growing the cucurbits, just not cukes.

So, I'm wondering here who has suggestions on cucumber varieties for pickling, and maybe even some recipes. I don't know. I just love pickles. I don't enjoy the taste of non-pickled cucumbers, but I'll let that slide if anyone just wants to talk about growing cucumbers without the pickling part of it. :biggrin:

midwestkid

Veteran
I've been told Boston pickling variety is the way to go. I've wanted to make pickles for a few years but I've never been overrun with cucumbers. Good luck. Keep us posted

Lester Beans

Frequent Flyer
Veteran
Boston or Chicago pickling cukes are the way to go. Pickle cukes were bred to be thinner skinned to absorb the brine better. And to keep the crunch, more of a firm cukes.

Baker seeds, rareseeds.com, have both Chicago and Boston heirloom variety. They both yield ridiculous and respond well to various growing methods. I grow them on plastic with drip tape. The do great on a trellis as well. If going container then make sure it is a big one and don't let it dry out.