What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Super expensive LED's vs cheaper LED's?

M

member 505892

I'm very new to the LED world.... i have seen cheap ones around for a long time now and seen poor reviews on the cheaper ones many years ago and the only ones worth buying seemed to be more than i was willing to spend....

Now i see some very good grows with these cheap(er) MarsHydro lights and i wonder why there are still some super expensive LED's including some from Mars....

So, what is the real difference? Unclefishtick's grows with these moderately priced LED's seem as good as any really, so what's the point in the expensive multi thousand dollar units?

Thanks. :ying:

f-e

Mentor
Veteran
When you spend time developing something, it owes you. The first ones you sell, you price high, because as something new they should be the best, and you need your money back. A year or two later, you are knocking out millions, have turned development costs into profit, and can sell cheaper. Your product at 2 years old, is probably no longer demanding the cost of the very best as something 0.1% better has arrived on the market. So you must price lower.

Lets look at a practical example. The LM301b was superseded by the LM301H. Same company, same series. Same part number almost. the B offered (from memory) 2.97umol/J and the H offers 3.03umol/J. With facts like these, how much more can the H be worth? Well.. everything? The B is outdated and rapidly becoming unwanted. Before the LM301 we had the LM561 with 2.8 umol/j and it's perhaps not even in production now. The 301H is 8% better so nobody is building with a 561 now. Though it's only 8% worse.