What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Shen Zhen Bava vs smilley

smilley

Veteran
I've been flowering for the last 14 years with an analogue 600 watt hps. 8 years horizontally and the last 6 vertically. It still works great but I've always had venting problems due to a long exhaust run with several elbows and squeezed duct because of a structural beam. I've decided to retire the hps and give quantum boards a try.

I bought a 480 watt set up from Shen Zhen Bava. It consists of 4 qb288's with 561C diodes, Meanwell driver, dimmer and color temp of 3500K. It cost $502CAN including shipping and brokerage which is very cheap compared to locally available units. I'm keeping my fingers crossed it doesn't crap out on me and I make no claims about it's reliability or efficiency. On the surface though, it seems to have the same specs as the HLG 550 v2.

picture.php

picture.php

picture.php

smilley

Veteran
This is the room. It's 46 inches x 52 inches but we'll call it 4ft x 4ft.

picture.php

The crop consists of 3 purple kush x blueberry, 3 blueberry and 3 C99's. They're all clones and I'll veg them another 4 days and then flip to 12/12.

picture.php

smilley

Veteran
Full power right now. I'm trying to see how much temperature drop I'm getting. It looks like the room temp is running at a constant 20C. That's a 9 degree drop from the 600hps at 60 inches above the floor. If it runs too cold, I'll throttle down the intake air from the attached garage and increase the draw from the house.