What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Heavy metals in Organics

xBOBxSAGETx

Hey guys, there seems to be no discussion about this but I’ve just been educating myself in Organics in general. Residual heavy metals seem to be a common thread in Organics. Rock dusts being the heaviest hitter amongst organic fertilizers. Has anyone tested their flowers for heavy metals and is this simply fear mongering? Or is this truly a concern? As with everything surrounding cannabis the research in limited but Organics in fruits and vegetables the info is out there. I’ve read that roly-polys reduce heavy metals. Any thoughts/opinions? I am a novice grower and not biased towards organic or synthetic growing. What I can get behind with Organics is having things correct at the source (soil) and not having to supplement with bottled nutrients to feed my plant. Other than that I’m not into the “organic” lifestyle with my day to day life.

Im planning on doing some experiments with lab tests. I just want to know what you guys think before hand!

MJPassion

Observer
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Being that cannabis is used, the world over, for phytoremediation of contaminated grounds (Cherynoble for instance); you should be concerned with heavy metals in your medium/plants. I doubt anybody is testing for them though.

xBOBxSAGETx

Being that cannabis is used, the world over, for phytoremediation of contaminated grounds (Cherynoble for instance); you should be concerned with heavy metals in your medium/plants. I doubt anybody is testing for them though.

There is testing available for heavy metals in plant material.

if you want alot heavy metals.
Grow UNorganic.