What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Cold trap vs Chiller

MzGrowItAll

I am trying to decide between a 5L and a 2L (5 being my preference, I think) Across International is the brand I am looking at. I dont know enough to say which I would like better a dry ice or a chiller. What are the biggest differences I would expect to see between them?

I was hoping someone with more experience could help me find something that will meet my needs without needing to upgrade in a year.

Reality Check: I may be too optimistic thinking I will ever need to upgrade. I dont know that either.

At this time I am self taught on a 5lb CLS from BVV and think I have what it takes to go from there.

I have a nice little 2L short path system set up (I can provide pics if someone would be willing to make sure I did it correctly.)

I was supposed to get a course with this purchase so I was not left fending for myself like I was when I bought my CLS from a local supplier.

I found out after I travelled down to get it that the course was cancelled, and then to top it off, if I wasn't so full of questions, I would have left without carbon or ethanol for the winterization or glycol for my chiller.

I did have enough unanswered questions to get the impression the guy, nice enough and all, while he owned the company was more of a salesman and not someone who has actually run a system. He kept telling me I could get that information from the internet.. Lets hope he was right about that.