What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

How Les is Currently Germinating Old Seeds

Lester Beans

Frequent Flyer
Veteran
I posted this in Mate Dave's thread but decided to make a thread so I could find it again and modify the thread as I learn. This is how I attempt to germinate old improperly stored or just hard to crack seeds. In plain English because I'm a simple farmer and speak from only my experiences, which most came from just growing all plants for years and the valuable knowledge I have gained from this wonderful site. Thanks Gypsy!

Disclaimer. For my science education, I went to the University of In the Field, where I feel I was out standing, but that's just me! So take this as you will! If it helps cool, if not I can re read it and keep myself honest.

Of course it's so easy with newer seeds. Just plant in soil, add water, warm, and light. Done. Who can't do that?

I think more the point here is getting old seed to not just crack a white tail, but successfully turn into a plant.

I have been working hard on trying to germinate some old cannabis seeds and some old vegetable seeds, mainly tomato.

My recent failures lead me to believe non viable seed is just that, she ain't gonna go. But I wanted to know that I did everything I could without a lab or chemicals. I always save some of those "dead" seeds, the future...who knows?

First read Chimera's method of starting seed. I can't find the link, sorry. He is the smartest dude I "know thru the intrawebs".

Here are some things I have tried.