What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Building COB LEDs. How far apart should I space them?

Hey guys, this is my first grow altogether and I am going with DIY COB LEDs that I am building. I got all the wiring done tested and ready to go but i need to go buy angled aluminum to mount the LEDs onto. I am not sure what length angled aluminum i should be using for a 7x7 flower room. Will I be okay with 4 feet long frames? Should I just divide 6 feet by 4 LEDs and just space them evenly? i dont want to waste lighting on walls is the reason i ask haha. Mainly want to make sure I dont put them too close to the walls but since i have no experience with grows not sure how close is too close.

Some info on my planned grow:
-I plan to have two seperate SCROGs in my flower room. Each one approximately 2.5 x 7 feet.
-I want to have two light fixtures (8 COB LEDs totaling 400 watts) over each SCROG).
- i also have 400 watt HPS i will probably hang VERTICALLY in the center to supplement lighting in case the LEDs are insufficient

Thanks in advance fellas!

Last edited:

Desert Hydro

Veteran
my frames are ~41"x41" to cover a 4x4 area. i didnt wanna do too big otherwise it would be a bitch to move and store. i like the idea of doing 2x4 sections(4 per 4x8 table) just so theyre nice and easy to hang and move.

i am building mine about 12" apart center to center(1 per sq ft) but on some i am only pushing 37.5w and the others are at 50w depending on the COB/driver combo