What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Tutorial Ventilation 101

G

guest 77721

Hey guys,

as you all know if the women don't find you handsome, they better find you handy...

I've got some background experience and have wanted to do a good write up for a while.

I have a collection of source material and will be cutting and pasting from it with a more detailed explanation that is more relevent to our hobby, building cabinets.

One of the lads in the Lodge says that growing leads to carpentry. I'm sure he's right.

***********************************************************************************************
We are trying to do two things at the same time, sorta like chewing gum and walking. The first thing is to provide
ventilation for the plants living in the grow chamber. The second is to remove the heap of heat generated from our lighting.

This chart gives some recommended ventilation rates for common applications. I recommend 5 Minutes per Air Change and no more than 1-2 MpAC to keep stress down on the plants. High airflow rates cause excessive dehydration which is hard on the plants.

suggestedvent.JPG

***********************************************************************************************
COMPARISON OF CABINET DESIGNS

1. Simple Cab - one chamber, no scrubbers or restrictions to airflow.

SIMPLE.JPG

CFM = 3.16*Watts/deltaT
where deltaT = 10 *F

Intake Area = 2 x Exhaust Area
Fans - Axial/Computer Fans due to minimal pressure loss

Example: A 400 W HPS in a 3 x 3 x 4 cabinet needs 126 CFM of cooling for a 10*F temp rise above room temperature.