What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Grow opportunity - need advice

midwestkid

Veteran
420giveaway
So I got an opportunity to manage a big hemp grow and now I'm scared shitless...
Currently I work in the engineering field and have always grown on the side as a hobby. Now I have a chance to grow on a large scale and I'm in negotiation with the financial backer and it all seems overwhelming.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Here's a list of fears and concerns in no particular order.
How much money do I ask for? Do I need a lawyer? How many people will I need for help? What is the best strain? What if the crop goes "hot"
Will he fire me once I get this farm up and running?
And 1000 other thoughts like that.
Let me know if you guys/girls have ever been through this and what to look out for. Thanks in advance!

highsteppa

Veteran
How many acres are you looking at? I may be able to help as myself along with some family have been working 57 acre hemp farm. Not huge but still industrial scale.

TychoMonolyth

Boreal Curing
Know that fears are normal.

When I'm asked to do something, I research it to hell and back. Even if you only get halfway, you can be confident you'll know more than most. So head up, speak with authority and if you don't know the answer to a question, don't lie, own it and say "I don't know. I'll get back to you on this."

You're in the engineering field? Good. You probable know MS Excel. Start a spreadsheet with the goal of having a 5 year projection.