Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Marijuana Growing > Cannabis Growing Questions > What voltage does a ballast put out?

Thread Title Search
Click for Perfect Grower Nutrients
Post Reply
What voltage does a ballast put out? Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2008, 02:35 PM #1
yamaha_1fan
Guest

Posts: n/a
What voltage does a ballast put out?

What voltage should a 1000w ballast put out?
Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 02:41 AM #2
Guest
Guest

Posts: n/a
1000 watts no?
Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 08:05 AM #3
FarmerTed
Member

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
FarmerTed is on a distinguished road
Either 120v/240v

Your ballast is either designed to run on 120v or 240v.
Depending which you have i believe that would be your answer. If i understand your question.
1000w/120v=8.3amp drawn from your circuit
1000w/240=4.2amps drawn from your circuit
Try not to exceed 80% of your circuits capacity for safety.
Just curious, are you trying to test your ballast to determine whether its functioning properly?
Hope this helped.
FarmerTed is offline Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 10:16 AM #4
trich-zilla
Guest

Posts: n/a
600 volts or some shit like that..

If "OUT" is the key word. Sure, 120 or 240 volts are put in, but what's put out by the ballast is a completely different thing.
Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 12:34 PM #5
yamaha_1fan
Guest

Posts: n/a
where are all the electricians and sparkies at?

voltage, amps, and watts are different things PK and Farmer Ted, thanks though

Yes I am trying to troubleshoot and see if the ballasts are putting out the correct VOLTAGE. From what I have been told, my ballasts (at least the 5 that I tested) are putting out the wrong voltage. The vendor I bought them from is clueless and its their store brand.

The ballasts are running on 240 (239 measured with meter) but I think the ballast should have the same output regardless of the incoming voltage.

On my transformer, it says OCV 435-490 but i get 300 at the hood and ballast checked with a digital meter set to AC

For those that dont know, I have had numerous bulb failures. probably 12-15 in the last 4-5 months. All bulbs are from the same manufacturer so the next 5 are from a different manufacturer and the vendor wants to wait and see if these blow. I however would like to verify that the ballasts are running properly


Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 12:40 PM #6
Wait...What?
Senior Member

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,125
Wait...What? has a spectacular aura aboutWait...What? has a spectacular aura aboutWait...What? has a spectacular aura aboutWait...What? has a spectacular aura about
'ballast' is just a simple word for 'step-up transformer.'

a 1000w sodium lamp wants 4,000v to ignite the lamp, and 400v to keep it on.

watts are a measure of power consumption in this context, not power output.

Last edited by Wait...What?; 03-07-2008 at 12:41 PM..
Wait...What? is offline Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 02:59 PM #7
yamaha_1fan
Guest

Posts: n/a
But if the ballast is running for several hours, the lamp is obviously running, there obviously should be a voltage that is read across the two hots going to the lamp, I am trying to find out what that voltage should be

Someone said 600
Someone said 400
My Brother in law says it should reflect the OCV Open Circuit Voltage rating marked on the transformer itself which is 430-490 I believe.


Either way my reading of 300 does not match any of those.
Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 07:01 PM #8
hydroflower
Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 67
hydroflower is on a distinguished road
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't OCV the same as no load voltage?
If the lamp is the load, I'm guessing (bad idea with electrics) the voltage would be lower, perhaps 300v.
If you're blowing bulbs, check how smooth your ballast input voltage is, it may be that.
HF

Last edited by hydroflower; 03-07-2008 at 07:05 PM..
hydroflower is offline Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 07:07 PM #9
trich-zilla
Guest

Posts: n/a
There could be too much resistance in your wire if the length of wire is too long between the bulb and the ballast. Eurosystem dual 600w ballasts had the same problem with their 20 ft. ballast to hood wires, they recognized this and put the ignitor in the hood, problem solved.

I don't know if this is your same problem, but it would be another place to look if you're seeing a significant voltage drop...

Last edited by trich-zilla; 03-07-2008 at 07:08 PM..
Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 07:33 PM #10
cocktail frank
Ubiquitous


cocktail frank's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omniverse
Posts: 5,255
cocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant futurecocktail frank has a brilliant future
very good point trich-zilla.
they dont recommend going over 15ft w/ the cord from the ballast to the socket.
__________________
What strain blows Frank's mind???
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Carlin
“Religion has actually convinced people that there's an invisible man living in the sky who watches everything you do,
every minute of every day. And the invisible man has a special list of ten things he does not want you to do.
And if you do any of these ten things, he has a special place, full of fire and smoke and burning and torture and anguish,
where he will send you to live and suffer and burn and choke and scream and cry forever and ever 'til the end of time!
But He loves you. He loves you, and He needs money! He always needs money!
He's all-powerful, all-perfect, all-knowing, and all-wise, somehow just can't handle money!”

R.I.P. George Carlin
the funniest man to ever walk god's green earth.
R.I.P. Buckeye
cocktail frank is offline Quote


Post Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Click to Visit Dark Heart Nursery for Clones


This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.