What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Clear larvae black head burrowing in stem

Dollar

I’ve been growing for 31 years and have seen it all at least that’s what I thought. I have newly rooted clones in 4” coco pots about 2 weeks. A week ago one died, then the next day 2 and every day after a few die each day. These plants are not overwatered or under watered, over fed or under fed. Same mix I’ve been using for years with no issues. Today I broke out the magnifying glass and inspected the roots, stems and leaves of one of the dead plants. At the base of the stem where it meets the coco there are clear larvae with black heads burrowing in the stem. There were many and lots of tunnels. You can tell they’ve been working hard. Keep in mind I could only see these with a magnifying glass that’s how small they are. What are these things and how do I get rid of them?

Dollar

Fungus gnats larvae

I don’t have fungus gnats. Not that I’ve seen. I’ve had em plenty of times before and it was clear they were there. The larvae burrow in the stem? Will these fungus larvae kill perfectly healthy plants? I thought they bred in the medium not the stem. Huh? I didn’t know fungus gnats could even kill a plant. Never have before when I had em and I’ve had em pretty bad where they were flying everywhere.

buzzmobile

Veteran
attachment.php

DAMAGE