What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

What's the best way to start a large amount of plants, seeds or clones?

I've been trying to find good info on this for awhile now...

How do you guys that do big runs start your plants?

I want to have ~100 plants out in the end of May.
(yes, even though I am not a pro I am from the country and I know plants)

I see two hard-to-chose-from options...:
1) clones - seems to be quite a task? (btw. here's my thread trying to get advice for a growroom for that)
2) seeds - sex on preflowers - seems easier to do however, some people say preflowers are not reliable

So how do you do it?

B

BAKED_BEANZ

seeds, sex on pre flower . it is reliable if your genetics are solid, however you constantly monitor each and every plant every week anyway . surprises can pop up . right till the very end till you pull that sucker .

i have in planter tubes for a month /or till they have good roots then they go in the hole , then 2 weeks later they will pre flower normally /strain dependant (so roughly 6 weeks till pre flower ). more the sativa in them the longer they take to pre flower . some you may only get the shortest glimpse of a pre flower . this is where i keep banging on about testing several strains . and knowing what you grow .

i normally plant 3 to a hole . if there all girls i keep the strongest . if there all males well you luck out on that hole . if your staggering your germination you will have spare to drop in that hole a week or so later .