What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

How Many Watts Does the Average 1K HPS Convert to Infra-Red?

Douglas.Curtis

Autistic Diplomat in Training
I've been using HPS lighting for over 15 years now and never really gave this question much thought. While I understand there are many types of 1000w HPS lamps available, I'm looking for a general average. Out of the 1000 watts powering a 1000w HPS lamp, approximately how many watts are converted directly to infra-red energy?

The second bonus question (no, I do not know the answer to either of these. I looked, but have not found it yet.) is, approximately how much of this infra-red is the average cannabis plant capable of converting to plant matter and cannabinoids/terpenes?

Lost in a SOG

GrassSnakeGenetics
My guess, looking at images of hps spectral output is around 3-5% is IR..

Imo, IR will act more on circadian like signalling pathways and this is why far red and into the IR as well as plent red is cited as helping boost the emerson effect whatever that is in reality.

In nature plants receive a blend of the full spectrum that changes constantly as the aspect and elevation of the sun changes..

Ibechillin

Masochist Educator