What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

OpenVPN - Peace of mind.

SubArctic7

I've done quite a bit of research over the years looking for the best way to keep my internet traffic secure and anonymous. I've tried and used many services, everything from proxies to ssh tunnels and I've been using an OpenVPN service from Perfect-Privacy for a while now and have been extremely pleased with it so far. FYI, I used to work in the networking field in the past (altho it changes and advances so damn fast) so this isn't a clueless newbs rant :)

These guys are the Nuts!! (if you play poker you know what I mean)

You can do an openvpn connection to one of their several servers around the world, then add a ssh tunnel to another servers squid proxy, and chain that to another servers socks 5 proxy. It can get pretty slow the more you chain it, but it's about as secure as you can get. Also, all their servers (according to them at least and I have been given no reason to doubt them) have highly encrypted hard drives on hardened Linux Servers and do not use any logging features at all.

I'd highly recommend service with http://www.perfect-privacy.com

Good luck and safe browsing/downloading.

Peace

idea

so a vpn to an offshore server, an ssh tunnel, and a socks 5 proxy?
where are the squid proxy and the socks 5 proxy located and how do you have access to them? do you use some kind of free service?

i have been thinking about this topic a little and i don't know how to get a server or two somewhere that cannot be traced with money orders or something.

SubArctic7

The web address I provided can explain it much better than I can. Perfect-Privacy