Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Grow It! > Growers Forums > What voltage does a ballast put out?

Thread Title Search    
Click for Hydro Grow LEDs!
Post Reply
 What voltage does a ballast put out? Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2008, 01:35 PM   #1
yamaha_1fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What voltage does a ballast put out?

What voltage should a 1000w ballast put out?
  Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 01:41 AM   #2
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
1000 watts no?
  Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 07:05 AM   #3
FarmerTed
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
FarmerTed is on a distinguished road
Either 120v/240v

Your ballast is either designed to run on 120v or 240v.
Depending which you have i believe that would be your answer. If i understand your question.
1000w/120v=8.3amp drawn from your circuit
1000w/240=4.2amps drawn from your circuit
Try not to exceed 80% of your circuits capacity for safety.
Just curious, are you trying to test your ballast to determine whether its functioning properly?
Hope this helped.
FarmerTed jest offline   Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 09:16 AM   #4
trich-zilla
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
600 volts or some shit like that..

If "OUT" is the key word. Sure, 120 or 240 volts are put in, but what's put out by the ballast is a completely different thing.
  Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 11:34 AM   #5
yamaha_1fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
where are all the electricians and sparkies at?

voltage, amps, and watts are different things PK and Farmer Ted, thanks though

Yes I am trying to troubleshoot and see if the ballasts are putting out the correct VOLTAGE. From what I have been told, my ballasts (at least the 5 that I tested) are putting out the wrong voltage. The vendor I bought them from is clueless and its their store brand.

The ballasts are running on 240 (239 measured with meter) but I think the ballast should have the same output regardless of the incoming voltage.

On my transformer, it says OCV 435-490 but i get 300 at the hood and ballast checked with a digital meter set to AC

For those that dont know, I have had numerous bulb failures. probably 12-15 in the last 4-5 months. All bulbs are from the same manufacturer so the next 5 are from a different manufacturer and the vendor wants to wait and see if these blow. I however would like to verify that the ballasts are running properly


  Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 11:40 AM   #6
Wait...What?
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,125
Wait...What? is a jewel in the roughWait...What? is a jewel in the roughWait...What? is a jewel in the rough
'ballast' is just a simple word for 'step-up transformer.'

a 1000w sodium lamp wants 4,000v to ignite the lamp, and 400v to keep it on.

watts are a measure of power consumption in this context, not power output.

Last edited by Wait...What?; 03-07-2008 at 11:41 AM..
Wait...What? jest offline   Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 01:59 PM   #7
yamaha_1fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
But if the ballast is running for several hours, the lamp is obviously running, there obviously should be a voltage that is read across the two hots going to the lamp, I am trying to find out what that voltage should be

Someone said 600
Someone said 400
My Brother in law says it should reflect the OCV Open Circuit Voltage rating marked on the transformer itself which is 430-490 I believe.


Either way my reading of 300 does not match any of those.
  Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 06:01 PM   #8
hydroflower
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 67
hydroflower is on a distinguished road
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't OCV the same as no load voltage?
If the lamp is the load, I'm guessing (bad idea with electrics) the voltage would be lower, perhaps 300v.
If you're blowing bulbs, check how smooth your ballast input voltage is, it may be that.
HF

Last edited by hydroflower; 03-07-2008 at 06:05 PM..
hydroflower jest offline   Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 06:07 PM   #9
trich-zilla
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
There could be too much resistance in your wire if the length of wire is too long between the bulb and the ballast. Eurosystem dual 600w ballasts had the same problem with their 20 ft. ballast to hood wires, they recognized this and put the ignitor in the hood, problem solved.

I don't know if this is your same problem, but it would be another place to look if you're seeing a significant voltage drop...

Last edited by trich-zilla; 03-07-2008 at 06:08 PM..
  Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 06:33 PM   #10
cocktail frank
Ubiquitous

 
cocktail frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omniverse
Posts: 5,074
cocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivor
very good point trich-zilla.
they dont recommend going over 15ft w/ the cord from the ballast to the socket.
__________________
Who's down for my Big Pink Pole?
What strain blows Frank's mind???
Quote:
Originally Posted by that smell View Post
The ONLY way peoples lives are ruined by marijuana is because of arrest, not because of marijuana

R.I.P. George Carlin
the funniest man to ever walk god's green earth.
R.I.P. Buckeye
cocktail frank jest offline   Quote


Old 03-07-2008, 11:22 PM   #11
yamaha_1fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hydro you may be right. I was told to read the voltage inside the socket. Then I figured I could just check outside the socket forgetting the lamp will cause a voltage drop. DOH!!!

At the 300 Volt I am seeing no voltage drop from the ballast to the hood. I get that reading at the hood and at the ballast. Tonight when lights come on I will check on the hoods with no lights and see what I get
  Quote


Old 03-08-2008, 11:54 AM   #12
yamaha_1fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
well that didnt work out. I pulled a bulb out and tried to measure the voltage from the socket and toasted the meter.

I guess I will just have to wait and see. I have 5 bulbs that are not of the original brand so if they blow, then I know the problem lies elsewhere
  Quote


Old 03-08-2008, 05:37 PM   #13
Wait...What?
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,125
Wait...What? is a jewel in the roughWait...What? is a jewel in the roughWait...What? is a jewel in the rough
Are they actually blowing, or do you just not have enough current to ignite them? Did you test the bulbs in a known-to-be-good lamp setup?
Wait...What? jest offline   Quote


Old 03-08-2008, 05:47 PM   #14
cocktail frank
Ubiquitous

 
cocktail frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omniverse
Posts: 5,074
cocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivorcocktail frank is a survivor
yamaha.
how long is the wire run from your ignitor to the socket?
lets try the obvious.
too long of a run and the ignitor wont be able to light the bulb.
__________________
Who's down for my Big Pink Pole?
What strain blows Frank's mind???
Quote:
Originally Posted by that smell View Post
The ONLY way peoples lives are ruined by marijuana is because of arrest, not because of marijuana

R.I.P. George Carlin
the funniest man to ever walk god's green earth.
R.I.P. Buckeye
cocktail frank jest offline   Quote


Old 03-08-2008, 06:07 PM   #15
yamaha_1fan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
remember I have 9 lights running, not just one or two. I have had bulbs go bad in just about every hood. A couple have gone all white inside from some type of powder. Most have gone black at the base though indicating some type of failure. When I put another bulb in, then it works. I dont have any other ballasts except the ones setup here

The run from the ignitor to the bulb is probably from 20-50 feet depending on the hood
  Quote


Post Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Click to download IC Magazine Issue #5

This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.