What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Idea for a DTW Hempy System

tilopa

I'm sure this has been done before. My idea is to have a Hempy type system that drains to waste the standing water at the bottom of the bucket, and refills via top feed once per day. I've never tried a Hempy before, but one benefit claimed by this system is that whenever you water from the top the standing water at the bottom gets pushed out and new (fresh) water replaces it. This would not be true for the systems I've seen explained online, because as the new water goes in from the top it would mostly drain out of the side hole and much of the stagnate water at the bottom would not be refreshed.

My idea is Instead of a hole about 2 inches from the bottom of the bucket there would be a hole at the very bottom, and tubing would connect this hole to another bucket outside the room. The outside bucket and inside bucket would be at the same level. The outside bucket would have a drain tube connected to it that would normally be closed with a valve. When lights go on the solution is pumped from the top and fills the bottom section. At lights out the bottom section gets drained to waste leaving the roots in nothing but perlite until they are fed again at lights on.

I would use perlite for the bottom section and hydroton or lava rock at the top.

My only problem is how to automate the opening of the valve on the outside bucket to drain the solution.

Any critique of this system would be appreciated.

Old Toker