What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

what are the benefits of no nitrogen mid-late flowering?

noworries

I have been using "the recipe" formula for a few months now and love it. I just dont cut out the nitrogen at day 32. I tried it and I got scared with leaves starting to yellow so quickly :comfort:

anyhow, my stuff ALWAYS tastes pretty much the same, no different between critical mass and northern lights blueberry at all. So I'm thinking about just cutting the nitrogen out at day 32 (if i recall correctly) if it is beneficial.

Has anyone went from using nitrogen all the way through to cutting it out and had positive results they can tell me about?

edit: apologies, its the 6/9 in coco.. this is the link to it

https://www.icmag.com/ic/showthread.php?t=81674

amannamedtruth

Veteran
Most people feed grow formula through week one or two of flowering. I like to Feed grow week one, then half bloom half grow, for week two, then at week four will give a lil' shot of Bio-Cozyme just for an all around nutrient jolt.

Longer flowering strains, 11-12 weeks, should probably get two weeks veg then half/half grow/bloom for week three.
More nitrogen means smaller buds, and harsher flavor. Less resin.

supermanlives

Veteran
thats why i switched to earth juice . the bloom has no n. i have limited experience with coco. tried it way back and failed miserably. i would suggest a test for yourself. i would never run n till the end .

I've been running the 6/9 until flush and have been getting pretty chunky buds. I'm gonna try cutting out the micro this time and see how it goes.

noworries