What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Bitter pill to swallow

944s2

ICMag Donor
Veteran
Hiya,,
My friends are aware that i have been caring for my mother who a few years back was diagnosed with Alzehimers and Vascular Dementia and has suffered a number of mini strokes also,,,
Luckily my sister lives nearer to my mums then I and around 10 days ago,,our mum was admitted to the hospital with another chest infection and pneumonia,,,,,
After a few days she was discharged but i got a call late on Monday
evening from my sister saying that she was very vacant and unwell again so my sister rang and within a few hours a Dr arrived and after trying to talk and examine her decided she needed to be Re-admitted
to hospital,,,,,,,
That brings us,, up to today when i recieved a call early this morning from my sister telling me the doctors wanted to talk to us!
I was getting ready to meet gypsy and celebrate his case being kicked out at the high court so i had to inform him i couldnt make it,,
which pissed me off,,
So off we went to the hospital and a meet with the doctors who explained that my mum was lucky not to have sepsus and that her condition has made her very weak and that we should prepare ourselfs as next time she may not be so lucky,,,,,
Her illness is so very cruel and it makes you feel totally powerless
Because no amount of money etc can help this situation,,,,,
Carers come in x4 daily and we make sure that she has everything she needs but accepting that the future is her passing or the illness getting so bad that she dont even recognise me or my sister,,,,,