What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

How many plants do you need to maintain a variety without inbreeding depression?

aliceklar

Greetings!

I'm an experienced gardener and seed saver, but relatively new to growing cannabis. I'm familiar with saving seed from chillies, tomatoes, beans and peas, and maintaining varieties that way, but they are all very happy to be inbred, and I am aware that cannabis is an outbreeder, and will suffer inbreeding depression if the genetic pool gets too small. The question is, how big a pool do you need to maintain a variety without getting loss of vigor or other undesirable mutations? I've some experience with saving seed from carrots, corn and squash, which are trickier, but I'm not an expert...

With corn - which is a strong outbreeder - you need to grow a minimum of about 100 plants per cycle, and save seed from the best 20. With carrots, to maintain a variety, its recommended to save seed from between 20 and 50 plants each time, and with squash its 5 - 10 plants (according to the good people at the Seed Savers Exchange). Now, I'm not sure how different cannabis is - for one, its male and female flowers are on different plants (more like squash), whereas carrots and corn have male and female flowers on the same plant (or male and female parts within the same flower). I'm guessing 5 mother plants would be a minimum? What about the fathers?? :thinking: