What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Fireproofing your grow area

G. Potter

Many growers consider fire a major threat in their grow room and certainlly there is a risk with the temperatures emitted by MH/HPS lights, trasformers, extension cords, etc. I am a builder who builds 200-300 homes per year. I am a master electrician and master carpenter. In the building business there are a number of measures taken to avoid fire in a home and then to contain a fire should one break out. The information and methods regarding fireblocking in new homes can be helpful to the indoor grower as he also wants to prevent fire altogether, but control it if it does occur. Hopefully this info will help someone do that. I'm also sure that others have found measures that help them feel more secure so add anything you wish. These suggestions will be helpful but they are not all encompassing.

I divide this topic into 2 categories:

Preventing fire: This is where you need to put the majority of your efforts. First, any time you carry an object into your grow room you need to consider whether it will burn or not, and if it will, how quickly? Make a U-turn with flash burn items, they just shouldn't be in there. Paper. towels and rags. oil based paints, (use latex), Mylar, aerosol cans, flammable liquids, rope, thin flammable board like luan, and anything else that might be in your room that will burn easily should go. Keep them outside of the room.

The next step is to protect your electrical system. This is an area where growers need help.