What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Possible to grow in pure homemade Vermicompost?

Cvh

Supermod
Hi all,

Currently I'm busy with starting up my wormbin. (Without grass clippings)

One of the things I would like to attempt this year is to try to grow in pure homemade Vermicompost.

I have been researching online for several months if it's possible to grow in pure Vermicompost (both cannabis and non-cannabis related sources) and I find many different opinions and experiences.

Some say it's possible and others don't.

So, has anybody attempted this before?

Thanks for sharing!

:)

(The reason I would like to grow in pure vermicompost is that it doesn't seem logical to me that I have to pay the city to pick up my kitchen and garden scraps and on the other hand I need to spent money in the gardencenter for my soils and amendments).

MJPassion

Observer
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Pure may prove to be a bit heavy...

castings retain a shit load of moisture so I'd guess you will, at minimum, need an airation amendment.

budsicles

What MJ said. I tried it for shits and giggles when I first started playing with homemade water-only mixes. The problem is that worm castings will turn to mud if no structural ingredients are added. Maybe if you have a very high % of coco in your worm bin then it will come out fluffy enough...but commercial bagged castings will almost certainly become muddy and compacted after several waterings. This reduces the root oxygen levels which drastically hurts yields.

Cvh

Supermod
Thanks guys. :)

Compactation issues of the soil is indeed what I also read in other sources.