What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

No Till Living Mulch

Canna-dian

This is my first no till grow using a subcool type pre amended mix in 10 gallon smart pots. I have had a difficult time locating any suitable shredded bark as a mulch at this time of the year so I opted for a living mulch cover crop consisting of Buckwheat, Barley, Alfalfa, Lentil and Fenugreek. From what I have researched, the living mulch will assist microbial development and once it has died back and mulched into the soil a, will assist in slightly lowering the ph and providing more fungal development. My plan was to cover the whole surface with something like Barley Straw once I go to flower. Here is a pic of my girls from seed at 35 days and cover crop planted 8 days ago. Any tips in this area would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20190313_221241.jpg
    20190313_221241.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 53

thailer

This is my first no till grow using a subcool type pre amended mix in 10 gallon smart pots. I have had a difficult time locating any suitable shredded bark as a mulch at this time of the year so I opted for a living mulch cover crop consisting of Buckwheat, Barley, Alfalfa, Lentil and Fenugreek. From what I have researched, the living mulch will assist microbial development and once it has died back and mulched into the soil a, will assist in slightly lowering the ph and providing more fungal development. My plan was to cover the whole surface with something like Barley Straw once I go to flower. Here is a pic of my girls from seed at 35 days and cover crop planted 8 days ago. Any tips in this area would be greatly appreciated.