What's new

Introduction: David Jasiewicz – Torrance, CA

davidjaz

I have spent the last couple years hiding out and researching, so I guess it is time to get more involved. I hope to return the favor and provide some resources for the grow community. My background is in mechanical engineering so I have a little different perspective and skill set than most of the growers.

I first got involved with the community years back when my brothers told me they were about to lose their CBD crop from early frost. Their bucking machine, was not working. Being an engineer, they asked me to figure it out. I build some parts to improve their machine, but much of the crop was still lost. I spent the next 2 years designing and building a machine from ground up that covered all the issues that they and others in the community were having.

As a developer, I am hoping to receiving input from the community on what problems they would like to see solved. I also have a lot of interest in aquaponics. I have 40 acres of land in Arizona that I am currently developing with my wife. We are getting a few buildings erected and hope to have some earth sheltered greenhouses built before the end of the year. My focus from a farming standpoint is primarily on growing organic food crops, but my passion is on designing high density grow systems. I like to automate the systems in the simplest way possible using readily available recycled materials when available. I am hoping to eventually be able to offer open source plans that could be implemented in poor rural areas without access to healthy food. I would love so share my experiences through this adventure.