Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Marijuana Growing > Nutrients and Fertilizers > Premixing nutes with raising pH water?

Thread Title Search
-
Post Reply
Premixing nutes with raising pH water? Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2019, 01:27 PM #1
ChillinjAh
Newbie

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
ChillinjAh is on a distinguished road
Premixing nutes with raising pH water?

Hey all. So my water supply has hard water, so whenever I adjust pH it tends to shift 7-8ph depending on the season. So I just mix everything before watering. My question is can I just mix my nutes beforehand and adjust pH just before watering. I have tried it before and when I put nutes pH drops down to 6.4-6.2 but in 24h it's back to 7-7.5 I'm just worried that some of the salts dissipate and I could loose micro elements or just in general the mix could loose it's chemical stability. Any advice is welcome. Thanks.
ChillinjAh is offline Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-12-2019, 02:03 PM #2
AgentPothead
Just this guy, ya know?

AgentPothead's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Grassachusetts
Posts: 2,218
AgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond reputeAgentPothead has a reputation beyond repute
My first few grows I was using coco, and what I would do was nutrient my 4 gallon water reservoir once a week, or when it ran out, which happened bi-weekly once they were in heavy flower. I started PH'ing when I was mixing the nutrients, but like you say it was climbing back up when it sat around. What I ended up doing was mixing nutrients once a week, but only PH'ing the jug I used to actually feed the plants. It meant having to adjust the PH on 3-5 jugs of water, instead of 1 reservoir, but I always knew I was putting in exactly the PH they wanted. I didn't have any problems with the salts dissipating or anything. I think at the worst they will fall out of solution and you'll end up with "stuff" on the bottom, but if you thoroughly mix it before each feeding you should be fine.
__________________
You may not vote on any more threads today.
Don't sweat the technique.
And honestly. My fuck ups turn to gold so much the thought of fuckin up don't even bother me. So I keep it auto when I'm stepping through a portal. I know that sounds strange but, strange beats normal.
AgentPothead is offline Quote


Old 02-12-2019, 04:53 PM #3
Douglas.Curtis
Autistic Diplomat in Training

Douglas.Curtis's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Back in Colorado! Yaay!
Posts: 4,265
Douglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond repute
Welcome to ICMag!!

I strongly advise using r/o water, or other water with <14ppm when growing cannabis. The number one reason is due to phytoremediation. Predictable and reliable pH is another, and being able to trade reliable advice with other growers is another.
Douglas.Curtis is offline Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-12-2019, 05:45 PM #4
Wendull C.
Senior Member

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Where the peaks meet the sky
Posts: 1,915
Wendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant futureWendull C. has a brilliant future
Like Mr. Curtis said , and I will add your yields will go up if using ro water in hydro or soil less. I like to use only a chlorine sediment filter when in coco. A lot of guys I know just run tap with coco too. Saves them the mag deficiency you get with out charging your coco properly.
Wendull C. is online now Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-12-2019, 09:46 PM #5
ChillinjAh
Newbie

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 5
ChillinjAh is on a distinguished road
Since I'm renting is there a way to connect r/o filter that simple tap water runs through into water reservoir. Because when I watched videos it involves drilling into pipes so it's not ideal. Something like brita water jugs. In Europe it's not so common r/o systems so I have no clue about it.
ChillinjAh is offline Quote


Old 02-12-2019, 10:05 PM #6
King Rat
Member

King Rat's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 238
King Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really niceKing Rat is just really nice
definately get that filter
depending on how big your reservoir is, a r/o filter is easily installed and completely affordable.
look out for home aquaristic r/o filters. they are connected to the regular water tap.
for example a 80€ r/o filter from amazon can supply you about 370L per day
King Rat is offline Quote


Old 02-13-2019, 02:56 AM #7
GreenGuy
Newbie

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
GreenGuy will become famous soon enoughGreenGuy will become famous soon enough
Yes, you can mix the nutes in the water beforehand, and then adjust PH just prior to irrigation.

Definitely go with reverse osmosis water, if you can, you won't regret it! You won't see the PH drift, like you do with hard water..

Good luck!
GreenGuy is online now Quote


Old 02-13-2019, 06:56 PM #8
Douglas.Curtis
Autistic Diplomat in Training

Douglas.Curtis's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Back in Colorado! Yaay!
Posts: 4,265
Douglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond reputeDouglas.Curtis has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChillinjAh View Post
Since I'm renting is there a way to connect r/o filter that simple tap water runs through into water reservoir. Because when I watched videos it involves drilling into pipes so it's not ideal. Something like brita water jugs. In Europe it's not so common r/o systems so I have no clue about it.
I use the Stealth-RO 100 (now they have the 150), and it connects to standard hose faucets. Get a hose splitter. I usually connect mine to the cold water line for clothes washers. This way you can connect your r/o machine and still wash clothes.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hose-splitter.png
Views:	1
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	485601
Douglas.Curtis is offline Quote


Post Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:19 AM.




This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.