What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Poor yield and stretching

bakelite

I’m having trouble getting decent yields with my plants. I’ve been growing for over 10 years and have grown over 30 different strains from seed including some high yielders such as White Russian, Sour Boggle, Pot of Gold etc. The quality of the grows are great, but they just don’t yield. I believe the issue to be related to stretch which I am having trouble managing.

I flower under (2) 250hps bulbs. The bulbs are in vented hoods so I am able to get the plants pretty close to the light source. In the summer they run about 80deg F night, 78 lights on. In the winter they run lower-mid 70’s during the night, 78 with lights on. I’d read that minimizing the day/night temperature swing can help reduce stretch in plants, but I’ve yet to see any benefit in reducing stretch with my setup. Due to height restrictions, I’m forced to keep my plants under 24” tall.

My soil base is amended Ocean Forest or amended Black Gold. I’ve tried pre-amending and also using just bottle ferts and get similar results. I grow in ½ gallon square pots. I’ve grown in 1 gallon and 1.6 gallon pots as well, but I get similar results either way.

As far as training goes, I’ve tried modular SCROG and extensive LST training to keep the plants short, only to have the new shoots stretch like a bastard and produce small buds when switched to 12/12. The stretch occurs even though some of the plants are within 5” of the arc tube during 12/12