What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Recommended height for Quantum Board led?

superhaze420

Hi guys,

This is my first time with Quantum board led, I have two led boards (120w + 120w) of 3500k + red.

I have read very different things about the recommended height, but in all cases, I always think... "that seems to me too much distance between the led panels and the plants".

I have always tried to put the light as close as possible to the plants (avoiding excess heat / burning).

But now, with quantum led, that seems to be different.

Does anyone have experience growing with these LED panels?

f-e

Mentor
Veteran
I had to raise mine. At under 100mm they were stressing my plants. So I'm back to a more realistic 250mm. Though most people are at 450mm. You should get a light meter. Divide your lux reading by 65 and you have ppfd. Meters are cheap, and you really need one so you can spread your light over a decent area, without spreading it too thinly.

Pro Headies

Veteran
Start 3ft away at minimum. You can use a lux meter and try 15,000 lumes to start then slowly move closer or let plants grow to them.

dank.frank

ef.yu.se.ka.e.em
ICMag Donor
Veteran
I have 2 x XB200 from HGLED in a 2.5' x 5' area - I've kept them every where between 24" and 4". 8-14" seems to be the sweet spot. 14-16" or so when allowing them to stretch and staying around 8-10" during maturation in flower.

The spectrum on these boards is way different though. It's 6 colors that end up making a more white light than you'd expect. Under a camera lens, it ends up looking more pink/red than it appears to the naked eye.