What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Any opinions on this soil?

JustSumTomatoes

Indicas make dreams happen
Saw this native soil near a swamp I plan to grow in. It is muck type soil that is fairly dark, nearly black and has a lot of earthworms in it. Haven't tested the ph yet but it will probably need to be amended with lime. This is my first time using native soil (instead of bagged premade) and wondered if anyone had an opinion of the quality based on appearance and what else I should do to amend it if needed (peat, pearlite, etc.) The plants growing nearby are skunk cabbage. The soil will be put in swamp tubes in the near future.

Attachments

• IMG_2437.JPG
    IMG_2437.JPG
    49.5 KB · Views: 21
  • IMG_2435.JPG
    IMG_2435.JPG
    47.1 KB · Views: 18

Ibechillin

Masochist Educator
For native soil/guerrilla knowing the characteristics of the strain you intend to plant will be more important than what you amend the soil with. That being said abundance of worms is usually a sign of good soil fertility (it means there is organic material there to eat), Schrews' native soil plants did great last year with im pretty sure just weekly foliar sprays.

Read through page 4 (recommend reading all) of the Tons Of Information On Max Efficiency Growing, Root Systems and Breeding: thread in my signature as it applies heavily to this.

AgentPothead

Just this guy, ya know?